Give Yourself Goosebumps!

Ready to get Goosebumps?

Looking for the perfect books to help your children take their first steps into the world of Horror? Goosebumps series by R. L. Stine is the best place to start. First published in 1992, these series have been popular ever since. They are great for children who are in the 8+ age group.

Now, please don’t go looking for moral lessons in these books as they have been written purely for enjoyment and reading motivation. One of the main reasons these books have been popular among children and their parents, is the fact that there are no drugs and extreme violence. This means you can safely allow your children to read these books as there are never any real serious situations in these stories. The central characters are young children and the “bad guys” are almost always super natural monsters. Personally, I used to absolutely LOVE reading this series. I used to wait for my bi-weekly library trips to get my next Goosebumps copy!

This series is also great for children to get comfortable with the chapter book format.  Children will get hooked on, owing to a good mix of suspense, horror and fantasy. The situations in the stories are such that the children have to find a way to escape on their own without much help from adults. Keeping children in mind, these books describe day to day problems and familiar scenarios mixed in with age appropriate amount of tension and suspense.

Always keep in mind that the main goal of all these books is to scare. So take time to talk to your children about the super natural elements in these books. Talk about the weird scenarios and ghosts. Let them get comfortable with this genre and understand that these are just stories. If your child is uncomfortable with these books, please don’t push them. Give them time and allow them to set the pace. Some children may never have a taste for this genre and that is perfectly fine too. End of the day, reading is all about enjoying yourself and if horror is what works for your children, then with Goosebumps, they are in for some Spook-tastic Fun!

Check out these hair raising tales and more at My Once Upon A Time – An Online Lending Library exclusively for Children.

The Adventures of Young Kalam

Adventures of Young Kalam by Stuti Agarwal features our dearest Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam as a school going boy!

Young Kalam is a misfit in his village where people don’t appreciate his creativity and his desire to think out of the box, they wonder why he can’t be “normal” like the other children. But irrespective of what the villagers think, there are people who believe in him – his Abbu, Professor Ramachandran and his best friends Balli and Ram.

His class teacher, Miss Punnakai, is the main reason behind all that is not right in the lives of Young Kalam and his friends. This story takes us through an adventure where Young Kalam with the help of his professor, uses his quick thinking and scientific creativity to save his friends and villagers from a dreadful cyclone.

One important point to note is that this is purely a work of fiction. It is not a true story. The author has done a wonderful job of narrating a thrilling story purely based on her imagination and admiration for our former President. She has included familiar elements such as his humility, simplicity and his deep love for science and mathematics in this story, which makes it believable.

This book is perfect for children 7+ years old. It has been split into 14 chapters, each approximately 10 pages long. Every chapter has one double page illustration which is very beautifully done and adds to your reading experience.

Stuti Agarwal, is also the author of another fun book, The Adventures of Tootsie Lama. You can find both her books in our library at My Once Upon A Time,

Happy Reading!

Tigers for Dinner : Tall Tales by Jim Corbett’s Khansama

  • Looking to introduce your child to the magic of Ruskin Bond?
  • Have one or more reluctant readers at home and want to find an interesting book to have them hooked?
  • Looking for a chapter book from a classic author with beautiful language as well as illustrations?
  • Simply wondering what book to read next or suggest to your little reader?
This book is the perfect answer to all the above questions!

Continue reading Tigers for Dinner : Tall Tales by Jim Corbett’s Khansama

Celebrate The Various Shades Of Friendship

It is the month of Friendship!

Friends come in all shapes and sizes. Your parents, siblings, classmates, neighbors and even your pets can help you discover the meaning of being a true friend.

Celebrate the joy of friendship with the Picture Books listed below. Add these books into your reading queue today!

Checkout these books and more at  My Once Upon A Time – An Online Lending Library Exclusively For Children

Age Group : 3 – 7 year old Continue reading Celebrate The Various Shades Of Friendship

The Adventures of Tootsie Lama

The adventures of Tootsie Lama, is a fun story about an independent and adventurous 8 year old girl, Tootsie Lama, who lives in the small hilly town of Darjeeling, all alone. Tenzing is her best friend and partner-in-crime. One day, Tootsie Lama comes up with a plan to get her hands on a bowl of yummy thukpa (noodle soup) and Tenzing readily joins her, to execute the plan to perfection. Tenzing’s mother believes in ONLY ‘healthy’ and home cooked-meals, so he is ready to risk-it-all to eat a bowl of thukpa instead. What follows is a fast paced tale of fun and excitement. Continue reading The Adventures of Tootsie Lama

Get Ready for a HOle lot of Fun!

 HOle books is a wonderful series by Duckbill Publications. Each title in the series can be read independently as the stories are not connected. The books are written and illustrated by various authors. These books are targeted at Young Readers who are stepping into the world of chapter books. There are currently 17 titles in this series. Continue reading Get Ready for a HOle lot of Fun!

Secret Seven – Classic Mystery Series

Looking for a classic mystery series to introduce to your child? A series that has proved to be successful for generations? Secret Seven it is!

Secret Seven is a secret society formed by Janet and her brother Peter. Their friends Jack, Barbara, Pam, Colin and George are the other members. They also have an unofficial but very important member, Scamper, who is Jack and Janet’s pet dog. Scamper accompanies them on their exciting adventures.

The author, Enid Blyton, has very creatively thought of and formed this secret club with lots of fun elements to interest children. The perfect target audience for these books would be pre-teens. Continue reading Secret Seven – Classic Mystery Series